Milton Academy
Milton, Massachusetts · K–12
On this page
Short answer
Milton Academy admits new students into grade 6 as a planned entry point — about 13 each year, the school says. Grade 5 is not an entry point; a space opens only occasionally. Grade 6 applicants send ISEE Lower Level or SSAT Middle Level scores, and everything is due January 15, 2027. Decisions come on March 10.
At a glance · 2026–27 season
- Admits grade 5
- As space allows
- Admits grade 6
- Yes about 13 places
- ISEE, grade 6
- Required
- Application deadline
- January 15, 2027
- Decisions
- March 10, 2027
- ISEE, grade 5
- Not stated by the school
- Score ranges
- Not published
The SSAT is accepted instead
Glentavo has no connection with Milton Academy. This page summarizes what the school publishes; the school's own pages are the authority, and dates can change during the season.
What kind of school is Milton Academy?
Milton Academy is a K–12 school in Milton, Massachusetts, south of Boston. Its Lower School and Middle School share one admission office and publish their own application pages. Grade 6 applicants go through the Middle School's process.
Does Milton admit grades 5 and 6?
Grade 6: yes. Grade 6 is one of the school's planned entry points, with about 13 new students. The Middle School also takes applications for grade 7, and does not take applications for grade 8.
Grade 5: as space allows. The planned entry points are kindergarten and grades 4, 6 and 7. In grades 1, 2, 3 and 5 the school says it does not know from year to year what will open; one or two places sometimes do. To be considered, the application must be complete by January 15.
Does Milton ask for the ISEE? Can the SSAT stand in?
Grade 6: required, either test. The school asks grade 6 applicants for the ISEE Lower Level or the SSAT Middle Level. The test must be taken in the academic year of application, and scores go directly to the school by January 15. School codes: ISEE 221430, SSAT 5098.
Grade 5: not stated by the school.
Applicants whose first language is not English also take the TOEFL Jr. (school code 8125). The school says it does not take the place of the ISEE or SSAT.
Does Milton publish score ranges?
No. The school's pages give no score ranges or minimum scores. Its FAQ says no one piece of information decides an application, and that it does not give individual feedback during the process.
This season's timeline (2026–27)
- Testing can startThe ISEE or SSAT can be taken from August; it must be taken in this academic year and by January 15, with scores sent directly to the school.
- Tour and interview bookingBook the parent tour and interview in Ravenna (a few Zoom slots); complete it by January 15.
- Everything dueOnline application, school reports for this year and last year, three recommendations (a school administrator, the current English teacher, the current math teacher) and test scores are due.
- Aid, new familiesFinancial aid application due for new families.
- DecisionsDecision letters in the Ravenna portal.
As listed on Milton's Middle School application page and admission FAQ on October 25, 2026. The school's pages are the authority.
How do the interview and tour work?
Each student meets an admission officer alone, then the parents are interviewed; together about 45 minutes. With the tour, the school asks families to allow 90 minutes. Booking opens in September in the Ravenna portal, with a limited number of Zoom interviews.
A second Milton page (the Middle School application page on milton.edu) says interview appointments are no longer offered. This guide follows the Middle School admissions site; after applying, follow what the school tells you in the portal.
How to prepare
For grade 6, Milton needs one test score: the ISEE Lower Level or the SSAT Middle Level, taken between August and January 15. If English is not your child's first language, schedule the TOEFL Jr. as well. How often a child may sit the ISEE is covered in our ISEE guide.
Glentavo's practice tests follow the ISEE Lower Level format.
Common questions
Does Milton require the ISEE for grade 6?
It requires one entrance test: the ISEE Lower Level or the SSAT Middle Level, whichever the family chooses.
Can my child apply to Milton for grade 5?
Yes, but grade 5 is not an entry point. A place opens only occasionally, and the application must be complete by January 15 to be considered.
English is not my child's first language. Is another test needed?
Yes. Milton asks for the TOEFL Jr. (school code 8125), and it does not replace the ISEE or SSAT.
When does Milton release decisions?
March 10, 2027, in the Ravenna portal.