Buckingham Browne & Nichols
BB&N · Cambridge, Massachusetts · coed day school, pre-K–12
On this page
Short answer
BB&N estimates about 20 openings in grade 6 and does not list grade 5 among its estimated openings. Grade 6 applicants take the SSAT or the ISEE in the year they apply; grade 5 applicants attend a classroom visit instead, and the application page sets no test for them. Applications and financial aid forms are due January 10, 2027, and decisions come on March 10.
At a glance · 2026–27 season
- Admits grade 5
- Not listed in openings
- Admits grade 6
- Yes about 20 places
- ISEE, grade 6
- Required
- Application deadline
- January 10, 2027
- Decisions
- March 10, 2027
- ISEE, grade 5
- Not stated by the school
- Score ranges
- Not published
The SSAT is accepted instead
Glentavo has no connection with Buckingham Browne & Nichols. This page summarizes what the school publishes; the school's own pages are the authority, and dates can change during the season.
What kind of school is BB&N?
Buckingham Browne & Nichols is a coed day school in Cambridge, Massachusetts, from pre-K (which the school calls Beginners) to grade 12. Its events page places grades Beginners through 6 in the Lower School and grades 7–8 in the Middle School, so a grade 6 applicant joins the Lower School's last year.
Does BB&N admit grades 5 and 6?
Grade 6: yes. The admissions FAQ estimates about 20 openings in grade 6 and notes that the number changes with current enrollment.
Grade 5: not listed in openings. The FAQ's estimates skip grade 5, but the application page does describe what grade 5 applicants do: a classroom visit on the Lower School campus.
Does BB&N ask for the ISEE? Can the SSAT stand in?
Grade 6: required, either test. The school says all applicants for grades 6–11 take the SSAT or the ISEE, in the same academic year as the application.
Grade 5: not stated by the school. The application page starts the test rule at grade 6. The FAQ has a general line that all candidates submit standardized testing, without saying what grade 5 applicants take. If your child is applying to grade 5, ask the admissions office before booking a test.
Does BB&N publish score ranges?
No. The school's pages give no score ranges or minimum scores.
This season's timeline (2026–27)
- Early fall 2026Inquiry form, then access to the Veracross admissions portal; interviews and tours are booked there.
- Lower School open houseLower School open house, 9 a.m.–noon, 10 Buckingham Street (passed).
- Virtual info sessionVirtual information session for Lower School families (Beginners–grade 6), 7–7:45 p.m.
- Fall 2026 – January 2027Grade 6 applicants take the SSAT or ISEE in this academic year, before the January deadline.
- Application and aid dueApplication, supporting documents and financial aid application due.
- Classroom visit, grades 2–5Classroom visit for grade 2–5 applicants, Lower School campus (required).
- DecisionsDecisions released.
As listed on BB&N's Application Process, Admissions FAQ and Admissions Events pages on October 25, 2026. The school's pages are the authority.
How do the interview and visits work?
After the inquiry form, families get a Veracross admissions portal, where interviews and tours are booked. The school says slots fill quickly and encourages booking early.
Applicants for Beginners through grade 5 also attend a classroom activity on the Lower School campus; for grades 2–5 it is on January 22, 2027, and registration is confirmed once the application is complete. The events page lists no classroom visit for grade 6.
How to prepare
A grade 6 applicant takes one test this academic year: the ISEE Lower Level or the SSAT. BB&N's deadline is January 10, five days before Milton Academy's and Winsor's, so plan the test date for the fall. How often a child may sit the ISEE is covered in our ISEE guide.
Glentavo's practice tests follow the ISEE Lower Level format.
Common questions
Does BB&N require the ISEE for grade 6?
It requires an entrance test for grades 6–11: the SSAT or the ISEE, taken in the year of application.
Does a grade 5 applicant take the ISEE?
The application page sets no test for grade 5; grade 5 applicants attend a classroom visit. The FAQ's general wording differs, so ask the school.
How many grade 6 places does BB&N have?
About 20, by the school's estimate; it changes with enrollment.
When is BB&N's deadline?
January 10, 2027, for the application, documents and financial aid. Decisions come March 10.